Continuing & Professional Education Enroll and Online Learning
Home Academic Calendar
Academic Calendar Print E-mail

Note: For variable-length classes, please see individual class descriptions or the refund schedule for deadlines.

Fall 2016 | Winter 2017 | Spring 2017 | Summer 2017

Fall 2016

Wed July 20 CPE Fall Registration begins
Tues Aug 30 Univ. Day Open Course Registration begins
Tues Aug 30 Preview Week for online c lasses begins
Mon Sept 5 Labor Day - Offices closed
Tues Sept 6 Fall classes begin
Mon Sept 19 Add/Drop Ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Tues Sept 20 Withdrawal period begins
Mon Oct 10 Columbus Day - Offices closed
Tues Oct 11 Monday class schedule
Mon Oct 17 Last day to drop with "DR" - Graduate students only
Thurs Oct 20 Last day to withdraw with "W" or select P/F (undergrad) - Last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Fri Nov 11 Veterans Day - Offices closed
Wed Nov 16 Friday class schedule
Sun Nov 20 Thanksgiving recess begins - Offices closed on Nov. 24 only
Mon Nov 28 Classes resume
Wed Dec 14 Last day of classes
Thurs Dec 15 Reading Day
Fri Dec 16 Final exams begin
Sat Dec 17 Second Reading Day
Thurs Dec 22 Final exams end
Fri Dec 23 Snow day for exams; Semester ends
Mon Dec 26 Christmas - Offices Closed
Tues Jan 3 Final grades due by Noon on SPIRE
Thurs Jan 5 Grades show on transcripts

Winter 2017

Wed Oct 19 Winter Registration begins
Tues Dec 27 Online Winter classes begin
Wed Dec 28 Submit special add requests/permissions by 12 noon
Thurs Dec 29 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Thurs Dec 29 Offices closed (use SPIRE to Add/Drop)
Fri Dec 30 Withdrawal period begins
Fri Dec 30 Offices closed (use CPE website to withdraw from classes)
Sun Jan 1, 2017 Holiday Recess begins - Offices closed on 1/2
Tues Jan 3 Classes resume
Mon Jan 9 Withdraw with a "W" ends - Last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Wed Jan 11 Grade Rosters available to instructors (approximate)
Mon Jan 16 Martin Luther King Day - Offices closed
Sat Jan 21 Last day of classes
Wed Jan 25 Final grades due on SPIRE
Thurs Jan 26 Grades posted to student records
Sat Jan 28 Grades show on transcripts

Note: Face-to-face classes will begin Jan. 3 or later, and will be dynamically-dated (i.e. Add/Drop and refund dates based on actual class dates).

Spring 2017

Mon Nov 7
Spring registration begins (matriculated students - check SPIRE for enrollment appt date/time)
Mon Jan 16 Martin Luther King Day - Offices closed
Tues Jan 17 Univ. Day Open Course Registration begins (Course list available on web)
Tues Jan 17 Preview week for online classes begins
Mon Jan 23 Spring classes begin
Mon Feb 6 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Tues Feb 7 Withdrawal period begins
Mon Feb 20 Presidents' Day - Offices closed
Mon March 6 Last day to drop with "DR" for Graduate students
Wed March 8 Last day to withdraw with a "W" or select P/F (undergrad) - Last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Sun March 12 Spring recess begins after last class
Mon March 20 Classes resume
Mon April 17 Patriots Day - Offices closed
Tues April 18 Monday class schedule followed
Tues April 25 Grade Rosters available on SPIRE
Tues May 2 Last day of classes
Wed May 3 Reading Day
Thurs May 4 Finals begin
Sat May 6 Second Reading Day
Thurs May 11 Last day of final exams; Semester ends
Fri May 12 Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements
Sat May 13 Stockbridge Commencement
Tues May 16 Final grades due in SPIRE by midnight
Thurs May 18 Official grades show on transcripts
Mon May 29 Memorial Day - Offices closed

Summer 2017

Mon March 13
Summer registration begins
Mon May 15 Start of preview access for Session 1 online classes
Mon May 22 First day of Session 1 classes
Fri May 26 Session 1 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Mon May 29 Memorial Day - Offices closed
Fri June 9 Session 1 Withdrawal period ends; last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Wed June 21 Grade rosters for classes ending by June 30 available to instructors on SPIRE
Fri June 30 Session 1 classes end
Tues July 4 Independence Day - Offices closed
Mon July 3 Start of preview access for Session 2 online classes
Mon July 10 First day of Session 2 classes
Wed July 12 Grades for classes ending by June 30 due on SPIRE (end of day)
Fri July 14 Session 2 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Fri July 28 Session 2 Withdrawal period ends; last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Wed Aug 9 Final Grade Rosters available to instructors on SPIRE
Fri Aug 18 Session 2 classes end
Tues Aug 29 Final summer grades due from instructors on SPIRE (end of day)
Fri Sept 1 Official Summer grades show on transcripts
 
Interested in Online Learning?