Continuing & Professional Education
Home Academic Calendar
Academic Calendar Print E-mail

Note: For variable-length classes, please see individual class descriptions or the refund schedule for deadlines.

Summer 2017 | Fall 2017 | Winter 2018 | Spring 2018

Summer 2017

Mon March 13
Summer registration begins
Mon May 15 Start of preview access for Session 1 online classes
Mon May 22 First day of Session 1 classes
Fri May 26 Session 1 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Mon May 29 Memorial Day - Offices closed
Fri June 9 Session 1 Withdrawal period ends; last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Wed June 21 Grade rosters for classes ending by June 30 available to instructors on SPIRE
Fri June 30 Session 1 classes end
Tues July 4 Independence Day - Offices closed
Mon July 3 Start of preview access for Session 2 online classes
Mon July 10 First day of Session 2 classes
Wed July 12 Grades for classes ending by June 30 due on SPIRE (end of day)
Fri July 14 Session 2 Add/Drop ends - Last day for 100% refund (less reg. fee)
Fri July 28 Session 2 Withdrawal period ends; last day for 50% refund (less reg. fee)
Wed Aug 9 Final Grade Rosters available to instructors on SPIRE
Fri Aug 18 Session 2 classes end
Tues Aug 29 Final summer grades due from instructors on SPIRE (end of day)
Fri Sept 1 Official Summer grades show on transcripts

Fall 2017

Mon June 5
CPE Fall registration begins (matriculated students - check SPIRE for enrollment appt date/time)
Mon August 28 Univ. Day Open Course List available on Web
Tues August 29 Univ. Day Open Course Registration begins
Tues August 29 Preview Week for Online Classes begins
Mon Sept 4 Labor Day - Offices Closed
Tues Sept 5 Classes begin
Wed Sept 13 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment application for Fall
Mon Sept 18 Last day for 100% class fee refund
Mon Sept 18 Add/Drop ends
Tues Sept 19 Withdrawal period begins
Mon Oct 9 Columbus Day - Offices Closed; No Classes
Tues Oct 10 Monday class schedule
Mon Oct 16 Last day to drop with "DR" - Graduate students only
Thurs Oct 19 Mid-semester - Last day to withdraw with "W" or select P/F (undergrad)
Thurs Oct 19 Last day for 50% class fee refund
Sat Nov 11 Veterans Day - Offices Closed; No Classes
Sun Nov 19 Thanksgiving recess begins - No classes - Offices on normal schedule
Thurs Nov 23 Thanksgiving Day - Offices Closed
Mon Nov 27 Classes resume
Tues Dec 12 Last day of classes
Wed Dec 13 Reading Day
Thurs Dec 14 Final exams begin
Sat Dec 16 Second Reading Day
Wed Dec 20 Final exams end
Thurs Dec 21 Snow Day for exams; Semester ends
Mon Dec 25 Christmas Holiday - Offices closed
Mon Jan 1, 2018 New Year's Holiday - Offices Closed
Tues Jan 2, 2018 Final grades due by Noon on SPIRE
Thurs Jan 4, 2018 Grades show on transcripts

Winter 2018

Wed Oct 18
Winter registration begins
Thurs Dec 21 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment application for Winter
Tues Dec 26 Online Winter classes begin*
Thurs Dec 28 Add/Drop ends
Thurs Dec 28 Last day for 100% refund (less registration fee)
Thurs Dec 28 Offices Closed
Fri Dec 29 Offices Closed
Fri Dec 29 Withdrawal period begins
Sun Dec 31 Holiday Recess begins
Mon Jan 1, 2018 New Year's Holiday - Offices Closed
Tues Jan 2 Classes resume; University offices reopen
Mon Jan 8 Mid-semester - Withdraw with a "W" ends
Mon Jan 8 Last day for 50% refund (less registration fee)
Wed Jan 10 Grade Rosters available to instructors (approximate)
Mon Jan 15 Martin Luther King Holiday - Offices Closed; No Classes
Sat Jan 20 Last day of classes
Wed Jan 24 Final grades due on SPIRE by 11:59 pm
Thurs Jan 25 Grades posted to student records
Sat Jan 27 Grades show on transcripts

*Face-to-face classes will begin Jan. 2 or later, and will be dynamically-dated (i.e. Add/Drop and refund dates based on actual class dates).

Spring 2018

Mon Nov 6
CPE Spring registration begins (matriculated students - check SPIRE for enrollment appt date/time)
Mon Jan 15 Martin Luther King Holiday - Offices Closed
Mon Jan 15 Preview Week for Online (Blackboard) Classes begins
Tues Jan 16 Univ Day Open Course Registration begins (Course list available on web)
Mon Jan 22 Spring classes begin
Wed Jan 31 Last day for new non-degree students to submit enrollment application for Spring
Mon Feb 5 Add/Drop ends
Mon Feb 5 100% Refund (class fees only) period ends
Tues Feb 6 Withdrawal period begins
Mon Feb 19 Presidents' Day Holiday - No Classes; Offices Closed
Mon March 5 Last day to drop with "DR" for Graduate students
Wed March 7 Mid-semester - Last day to Withdraw with a "W" or select P/F (undergrad)
Wed March 7 50% refund (class fee only) period for term-long classes ends
Sun March 11 Spring Recess begins
Mon March 12 Summer Session Registration Begins
Mon March 19 Classes resume
Mon April 16 Patriots Day Holiday - No classes - Offices Closed
Tues April 17 Monday class schedule followed
Thurs April 26 Grade Rosters available on SPIRE
Tues May 1 Last day of classes
Wed May 2 Reading Day
Thurs May 3 Final exams begin
Sat May 5 Second Reading Day
Thurs May 10 Last day of final exams; Semester ends
Fri May 11 Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements
Sat May 12 Stockbridge Commencement
Tues May 15 Final grades due in SPIRE by midnight
Thurs May 17 Official Grades show on transcripts
Mon May 28 Memorial Day Holiday - Offices Closed
 
Interested in Online Learning?